TextEdit Icon

Printing a document

TextEdit's printing options let you select a layout, page order, number of copies, and more. Some printers have also have special settings you can adjust for a specific job. Before you print a TextEdit document, you can check the page setup to make sure the paper size, orientation, and other settings are correct.

To review the page setup, choose File > Page Setup.

To print your document, choose File > Print. Select settings you want to use, and click Print.

If you want, you can preview your document before you print it. If you have selected "Wrap to page" in the Format menu, you'll see text within the page margins of the document. If "Wrap to window" is used, text is printed the way it looks in the current window size.

You can also set a preference to have TextEdit add page numbers, the date, and the document title on all printed pages. Click the "printing" link to find out more.

To learn more about setting up and using printers, click the help button in the print dialog or look in Mac Help.

See also

printing