Making text wrap to window size or paper size
TextEdit wraps lines of text based on the width of the window, so when you widen the window, the lines get longer. When you print a document, TextEdit matches the length of lines in the printed document to what you see on the screen. If the window is very wide, TextEdit must reduce the font size to get all of the words on the page.
You can make TextEdit wrap text based on the width of the paper you want to use instead. You can also make TextEdit automatically hyphenate long words at the ends of lines to make the text wrapping appear more smooth.
- To set TextEdit to wrap text based on paper width, Choose Format > Wrap to Page. A rectangle appears in the window indicating the margins of the document.
- To set the paper size you want to use, choose File > Page Setup and select a paper size and orientation.
- To turn on hyphenation of long words at the ends of lines, choose Format > Allow Hyphenation.